Sunday Lunch

“WELCOME TO THE 35TH ANNUAL…”
“Bokkie, could you please turn it down?”
“Mooooom…”
“Not now, liefie. Can’t you see mommy’s busy?”
“AND WE’RE JUST ABOUT READY FOR THE KICK OFF…”
Baby you’re a firework…
“Jessie, I’ve told you before not to play your music so loud.”
“I need to practice!”
“Then practice with your earphones in. No one else needs to hear it.”
“Becca’s mom never makes her…”
“AND IT’S FLIP BOTHA WHO INTERCEPTS AND PASSES OFF TO…”
Make ‘em go AH AH AH!
“Well, I’m not Becca’s mom, now am I?”
“Moooooooooooooom…”
“I said not now, Andries!”
“Maybe I should just go to Becca’s then!”
“Not wearing that you’re not.”
“HAMILTON STEALS THE LEAD FROM…”
Come on let your colours burst.
“What sport are you even watching there, sweetheart?”
“Can’t I just have one day to relax and not be nagged about…”
‘God, it’s just my uniform, mom!”
“I don’t care if it’s your uniform, you are not walking around looking like that.”
“Mooooooooooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmmmy!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
As you shoot across the sky-ay-ay!
“What, Andries? What is it?”
“I’m bored.”
“Looking like what?”
“Like that!”
“IT’S A HOLE IN ONE! WHO COULD HAVE BELIEVED…”
“Everyone else on the squad gets to…”
“Do I look like I care what everyone else on the squad is wearing?”
Baby you’re a firework….
“Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad?”
“What’s it my boy?”
“I’m bored.”
“OLE OH-LE, O-LE OLE. OLE OH-LE,O-LE OLE!!!” “
Go help your mother in the kitchen.”
“I hate you!”
“You’ll get over it.”
Make ‘em go AH AH AH!
“How many times must I ask, Bokkie? Turn that noise down.”
“Jesus Christ! Can’t even relax in my own home on a Sunday!”
AS YOU SHOOT ACROSS THE SKY-AY-AY!
“THAT’S IT.”
“Wha….”
“Mom, what are you…”
“Mommy?”
“Where do you think you’re…”
“What do you think you’re…”
“NO! Come on!”
“You can’t be serious!”
“Daddy, why’s mommy…”
“ENOUGH.”
“…”
“That’s better. Now we’re all going to spend this Sunday together as a family.”
“But.”
“No buts. And no butts, either, Jesse. Go change out of that God-awful outfit.”
“Mommy?”
“Yes, Andries?”
“You’re scaring me.”
“She’s scaring me too, and I’m married to her.”
“Geez, mom. No need to flip out on us like this.”
“If the TV was too loud, you could have just asked me to turn it down.”
“Now, who wants to help me finish off making lunch for all of us?”
“Chicken? Again. Why can’t you ever remember that I’m ve…”
“Jesse…”
“Nevermind.”
“That’s more like it. How about you chop up some cucumber then for a nice, fresh salad. You still eat salad, don’t you?”
“I guess.”
“Good. Bokkie, can you grab the breadboard from the scullery?”
“Sure, my sweetheart.”
“Andries, can you carry this, carefully now, to the table and put it out nicely for us?”
“Yes, mommy.”
“We’re going to have a nice lunch as a family.”
“Sweetheart?”
“Yes, my bokkie?”
“Do you think you could put that knife down?”
“What kni… Oh! I didn’t realise I was holding the blerrie thing.”

 

Prompt:
A major sporting event, a cheerleading outfit, and a blood-stained knife.

Write a story of at least 500 words that includes some, or all, of the props. The props don’t even necessarily need to exist as physical objects in your story.

sunday-lunch

Leave a Reply

